Warren County Logo

The Code of Virginia requires every county, city and town to create a local planning commission to promote the public health, safety, convenience and welfare of its citizens and to plan for the orderly development of the community. The role of the planning commission is to serve primarily in an advisory capacity to the Board of Supervisors.
The primary responsibility of the Planning Commission is the development of the County’s Comprehensive Plan. The comprehensive plan is a long-range plan intended to guide the growth and development of a community. The Code of Virginia states that every county must have an adopted plan and that the plan must be reviewed at least once every five years. The County first adopted a comprehensive plan in 1975. A revised plan was adopted in 1984. In 1997, after three years of development, the County adopted a revised plan. In 2005, the County adopted its current plan. The plan is divided into seven chapters and addresses the following topics: history/regional setting, growth trends, natural resources, growth management/land use, community facilities, economic development and infrastructure. The plan is available for review at the Samuels Public Library and is available for purchase at the Warren County Planning Department Office, located at 220 North Commerce Avenue in Front Royal.
The Commission is assisted by the Planning Department staff in developing ordinance revisions and in making recommendations to the Board of Supervisors for proposed amendments. The Commission is also charged with the review of development applications for conformance with the County’s Zoning and Subdivision Ordinances. This involves the review of conditional use permits, rezoning and preliminary site plans as well as addressing other planning issues facing the community. In most instances, a recommendation is then made to the Board of Supervisors on the specific issue. The Board then makes the final decision on whether to approve or deny the request. 
Warren County’s first countywide planning commission was created by the Board of Supervisors on September 30, 1958. The Warren County Planning Commission currently consists of five members; one from each magisterial district in the County (North River, Shenandoah, Happy Creek, South River and Fork). Members are appointed for a term of four years. The terms are staggered so that no more than two members’ terms are up for nomination in any one year.
The Warren County Planning Commission meets regularly on the second Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Warren County Government Center. Informal work sessions may be called from time to time to work on issues before the Commission. The public is invited and encouraged to attend every meeting.
Planning Commission Documents

Employees Results 1 - 4 of 4

  • Robert E. Myers

    Robert E. Myers

    Chairman, Happy Creek District

    P: (540) 635-4989

    Robert Myers grew up in Lee County, Virginia on a beef cattle and tobacco farm.  He has a BS in Education from Virginia Tech; teaching for one year in Hanover County and five years in Page County.  He has also worked as an Estimator and/or Project Manager for various excavation and ...

    View Profile
  • Hugh B. Henry

    Hugh B. Henry

    Vice Chairman, Fork District

    P: (540) 635-3981
  • Scott Kersjes

    Scott Kersjes

    North River District

  • Kaylee Richardson

    Kaylee Richardson

    South River District


  (540) 636-4600
  (540) 636-6066
  220 N. Commerce Avenue
     Front Royal, VA 22630

Keep in Touch

WC Seal braid trans

Established in 1836